Job Hunting

How To Re-do Your CV And LOVE The Result

Cut and cut and cut some more

Sarah Minnis
3 min readNov 9, 2021

--

happy lady
Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

I’ve just completely rewritten and reworked my CV (Resumé) and I absolutely LOVE the look of it! I’m thinking of submitting it to a few places soon once I’ve checked it over for typos and edited it just a tiny bit more. Time for a change of scenery in my life and all that.

My old CV was created using Microsoft Word and that had been the case for nearly 2 decades. This time, when I updated everything, I skipped Microsoft Word and went with Canva.

Maybe that’s not your first choice when it comes to creating official documents as Canva does have it’s limitations (e.g. no cursor option, just text boxes) but nevertheless, it’s easy to move things around and get things just as you want them.

So, why do I love it so much this time?

The layout.

Definitely the layout more than anything else —because now it’s in 2 columns, not one. I have my Work Experience on the right and my Education and Qualifications on the left. This all continues onto 2 pages. On the second page are some highlighted skills and cherrypicked extras like my hobbies and references.

--

--

Sarah Minnis

I write about side hustles, productivity and creativity whilst trying to live an eco-friendly and happy life. I love learning new crafts, words and skills!